How can I cancel a messenger group

Internet Delete Facebook group - here's how

display

There is no button with "delete group" on Facebook. It does not matter whether you created the group (so you are an administrator) or are a member of a group. A group will only be removed from Facebook and thus deleted if all members have withdrawn. If the complete removal is too permanent for you, archiving is also possible. That's how it's done:

Leave a Facebook group as a group member

Leaving a group is quick once you know where to find the function. We'll show you where for the old Facebook design as well as for the new Facebook design.

Old design: Follow our step-by-step instructions or take a look at the quick start guide.

New design: Follow our step-by-step instructions or take a look at the quick start guide.

Remove members from self-created group and delete group

A Facebook group can only be completely deleted if all members have resigned or removed beforehand. So you need either the Ask members to leave the group or all remove manually. We'll show you how to do this for both the old Facebook design and the new design.

display

Old design: Follow our step-by-step instructions or take a look at the quick start guide.

New design: Follow our step-by-step instructions or take a look at the quick start guide.

Archive group

display

If deleting the group seems too drastic to you, you can do it too archive. This means that members can still visit the group, but can no longer post there. So she is like "frozen". The archiving can canceled at any time become. This is how it works in the old Facebook design, this is how it works in the new design.

Old design: Archive group

New design: Archive group

Quick guide: leaving a Facebook group as a group member (old design)

  1. Open the group overview on Facebook by clicking on "groups"click.
  2. Click the next to the group you want to leave Gear icon and choose "leave the group".
  3. A new window is opening up. Confirm the process by clicking on "leave the group".

Quick guide: leaving a Facebook group as a group member (new design)

  1. Click the above Groups symbol.
  2. Select the from the overview on the left Group you leave want.
  3. In the group view, go to the on the right three points and choose "leave the group".
  4. If necessary, now set that you not in the group again be invited.
  5. Finally click "leave the group".

Quick guide: Remove members from a group you have created and delete a group (old design)

  1. On the Facebook homepage, click in the menu on the left on "groups".
  2. Above below "Groups you manage"are the groups where you are Administrator are. Click on the group that you want to delete.
  3. First, all other members have to be removed if they have not left themselves beforehand. To do this, click in the menu on the left on "Members". After each member's name, click the three horizontal points and choose "Remove from the group". Each time you have to repeat the process with"To confirm" to lock.
  4. When all members have been removed, click as the last member at the top of the group's tab on "Joined"and choose"leave the group" out.
  5. Finally click on "Exit and delete".

Quick guide: Remove members from a group you have created and delete a group (new design)

  1. Go on top of that Groups symbol. Select on the left under "Groups you manage"the group that you want to delete.
  2. In the menu bar under the group picture, click on "Members".
  3. Go over that Three-point menu behind each individual member on "Remove member".
  4. Click on "To confirm".
  5. Finally, leave the group yourself. This will automatically delete them. Next to your name, go over that Three-point menu on "leave the group".
  6. End the process by clicking on "leave the group".