Who are the twelve Olympic gods?

The 12 olympic gods

These are the original twelve Olympian gods:

Zeus (Juppiter)

Son of Kronos and Rhea, father of men and gods

Demeter (flora)

Sister and lover of Zeus, goddess of fertility

Athena (Minerva)

Daughter of Zeus, goddess of wisdom

Hermes (Mercury)

Son of Zeus and Maia, messenger of the gods

Hera (Juno)

Sister and wife of Zeus, guardian of marriage

Apollo (Apollo)

Son of Zeus and Leto, god of the arts

Ares (Mars)

Son of Zeus and Hera, god of war

Hephaestus (Vulcanus)

Limping son of Hera, god of blacksmithing

Poseidon (Neptunus)

Brother of Zeus, god of the sea

Artemis (Diana)

Daughter of Zeus and Leto, goddess of the hunt

Aphrodite (Venus)

Daughter of Uranos, goddess of love

Hestia (Vesta)

Sister of Zeus, goddess of the hearth fire

They are original olympic gods. Often the relatively young god appears in the representation of the twelve gods instead of Hestia Dionysus. Hestia voluntarily makes room for him when he and Ariadne move into Olympus.

In any case, they are not counted among the Olympic gods Hades (Pluto), a brother of Zeus and Hera, Lift (Iuventas), a daughter of Zeus and Hera, and Eileithyia (Lucina), also a daughter of Zeus and Hera.

But how is it that Dionysus moves to Olympus late? Olympus was actually closed to him because he was born to a mortal mother (Semele), as well as Heracles descends from a mortal (Alcmene), but is later admitted to Olympus and Hebe becomes a wife.