How can a dentist repair dentin

Deep tooth decay

The dentist calls deep caries: Caries Profunda. This term defines a certain stage or depth of caries. At the end of an untreated caries disease, the pulp dies. Popularly, the pulp is also referred to simply as the nerve. However, before the bacteria reach the nerve, they have to eat their way through different layers in the tooth. To do this, the bacteria convert sugar into acid. This slowly destroys the hard substances of the tooth and a deep hole is created. The closer the tooth decay gets to the nerve, the more likely it is that severe toothache may appear as a symptom. What layers of teeth are there that tooth decay has to overcome?

1. Enamel
2. Enamel dentine border (relevant to therapy)
3. Dentine
4. Pulp (synonyms: nerve, tooth pulp)

Tooth enamel is the hardest layer on the tooth. It covers the entire outer surface and is visible to everyone when you smile. Shiny crystal white with good care. It protects the tooth from various stimuli that occur in the oral cavity. Underneath is the significantly softer dentine. It is more brownish in color and has small canals that reach down to the tooth nerve. These connections make the tooth sensitive and cause pain if exposed. The pulp, in which blood vessels, tissue and nerves are located, comes under the dentin.

Conclusion: Caries areas that overcome the enamel and reach deep layers of the dentin up to just before the pulp are called Caries Profunda.