Which band sang the song Hangar 18

Album review Megadeth - Rust In Peace

Rust in Peace is the fourth album by the band Megadeth. The album was released in 1990 and marks a milestone for the band and at the same time for thrash metal. Over 1 million albums were sold in the USA, and in 1991 it was nominated for Best Metal Performance at the Grammy Awards. Critics generally gave good to very good ratings.

Rust in Peace immediately reached number 23 of the charts in the USA, in Great Britain the album made it to number 8. However, the released singles Holy Wars ... The Punishment Due and Hangar 18 only reached the top 30 of the charts in Great Britain (position 24 or 26).

For the band, Rust In Peace also meant a certain turning point. Only bassist David Ellefson remained from the old line-up. Guitarist Marty Friedman and drummer Nick Menza were new, while Chris Poland played the lead guitars on the demo tracks. Much had happened in Mustaine's private life too, he had allegedly successfully withdrawn from alcohol and seemed more stable than before. This affected the music and the band.

Musically and in terms of content, at least roughly, everything remained the same. The band remained a thrash metal band, but with even clearer commitments to classic heavy metal. Lyrically, Mustaine liked to be political. In contrast to older albums, he spread the themes further. He reflected his inevitable thoughts on war on the songs Rust In Peace ... Polaris and Take No Prisoners. In a more special way, Holy Wars ... The Punishment Due was about wars of religion and the Northern Ireland conflict on the one hand, and the comic figure The Punisher on the other. Dawn Patrol covers global warming. More apolitical, however, is Five Magics, with which Mustaine refers to the fantasy film Goreblade: Warrior King of the Universe.

Poison is The Cure is more personal. It's about addiction and ways out of addiction via substitute drugs like methadone. The title could therefore designate methadone as a healing poison, but the misconception that drugs are the cure for everything would be just as conceivable. On Lucretia, Mustaine describes a ghostly experience he had in his house and Tornado Of Souls is about the breakdown of a relationship.

The original cover should also be of interest. It shows band mascot Vic Rattlehead with political greats of the time holding a secret meeting in Hangar 18. However, the song of the same name on the album is about conspiracy theories on the subject of UFOs (but it is also about the role of US politics in this matter).

Musically, the band continues to forge the thrash metal iron, but with clearer commitments to classic metal. The twin guitar lead parts are characteristic. Mustaine himself takes on the usual role as a rhythm-oriented guitarist. Friedman shows with enormously fluid, albeit relatively technical, solo contributions that he comes from the orbit of the young, wild shredders.

In that sense, the opener Holy Wars… The Punishment Due is kind of a blueprint for what the band was about back then. Powerful play, razor-sharp rhythms, sophisticated arrangements and Mustaine singing a bit wacky. The trademark riffs on Hangar 18, one of the band classics, are more catchy. Especially live a guarantee that the audience roared along with the riffs. Another classic of the band is the title track Rust in Peace ... Polaris, a rough track between Thrash and Classic Metal.

Since Rust In Peace is one of the most important band albums, ultimately all the songs are part of the standard program: the powerful Take No Prisoners and Poison Was The Cure, the more complex Five Magics (which, in my opinion, sounds like a really well-done Metallica song ), the slightly crazy Lucretia or the short, dragging Dawn Patrol with the psychotic chant of Mustaines.

Everyone has their preferences and particularly highlights one or the other album by a band. Rust In Peace could not offer the thrash fan enough toughness, but Mustaine presented an extremely successful mix of thrash metal and classic heavy metal. He has never managed to do that in this form before and later works increasingly lost their Thrash heaviness. Seen in this way, this is a milestone in the band's discography as well as in the history of rock music and especially metal. Anyone who likes harder rock should have heard Rust In Peace at some point.

  1. Holy Wars ... The Punishment Due 6:32
  2. Hangar 18 5:14
  3. Take No Prisoners 3:26
  4. Five Magics 5:40
  5. Poison Was the Cure 2:56
  6. Lucretia (Music: Mustaine, David Ellefson) 3:56
  7. Tornado of Souls (Text: Mustaine, Ellefson) 5:19
  8. Dawn Patrol (Text: Mustaine, Music: Ellefson) 1:51
  9. Rust in Peace ... Polaris 5:44

Bonus Tracks 2004 Issue

  • My Creation (Music: Mustaine, Nick Menza) 1:36
  • Rust in Peace ... Polaris (demo) 5:25
  • Holy Wars ... The Punishment Due (demo) 6:16
  • Take No Prisoners (demo) 3:23

All songs Mustaine unless otherwise noted

Reviewer: MP